ICMIF appoints new Board Members and Vice-Chair

Friday, 25 November 2011

During the recent Biennial Conference the ICMIF General Assembly voted in a new Board of Directors for the next four years until 2015. The General Assembly also voted to increase the maximum number of Board members from 18 to 24 members. Thirteen of the existing Board are continuing to serve including John Balmforth as Chair. Anders Sundström has been appointed Vice-Chair replacing Jacques Forest of P&V.

The first new Board member is Denis Berthiaume. Denis is Senior Vice-President and General Manager, Wealth Management and Life and Health Insurance, of Desjardins Group, and President and Chief Operating Officer of Desjardins Financial Security (a subsidiary of Desjardins Group), Canada. He is also Director of NorthWest & Ethical Investments L.P. Denis replaces Richard Fortier who has stepped down from the ICMIF Board.

Hilde Vernaillen took over as President of P&V in June from Jacques Forest and assumed his Board position in ICMIF’s Board and Executive Committee. Hilde has been with P&V for ten years and was responsible for the recent mergers and acquisitions that P&V have undertaken.

The second to join the Board of ICMIF is Jean-Philippe Huchet, President of FNMF, France, and also General Secretary of the Mutualité Française and Vice-President of the Mutuelle générale de l’éducation nationale (MGEN).

David Neave, Director of General Insurance for Co-operative Insurance, UK, also joins the ICMIF Board at this time. He has worked in general insurance for 30 years and is also Chairman of the Insurance Fraud Bureau, the ABI Financial Crime Committee and a Director of the Motor Insurer’s Bureau.

The new President of Zenrosai, Japan, Kenjiro Tabaru also joined the ICMIF Board replacing Tamotsu Ishikawa. Mr Tabaru’s previous role with Zenrosai was Head Director of the Eastern Regional Office. He began his career with the Fujitsu Labor Union and held the position of Chairman at the Head Office Branch.

Mr Dong-Min Na is the new Board representative from NACF and is head of the Insurance division of NACF, Mr Na has a challenging role as NACF sets up a separate insurance company in 2012.

Finally, Nelson Kuria of CIC, Kenya, has been confirmed as a full Board member following on from his tremendous work and commitment as Chair of the ICMIF Development Committee.

Grateful thanks from all the ICMIF Secretariat go out to those Board members who have completed their term of office for their hard work and dedication to the Federation and its members. A full Governance brochure can be downloaded from the ICMIF web site: www.icmif.org/board-committees.