BCCM announces board and chairperson for 2019

12 December 2018


Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals (BCCM) one of the Australian members of the International Cooperative and Mutual Insurance Federation (ICMIF) last week announced that its board has been re-elected in full.

The BCCM Chairperson for 2019 is Terry Agnew (pictured).

The BCCM Board of Directors for 2019:

  • Ian Gillespie – re-elected as Director
  • Greg Wall – re-elected as Director
  • Jimmy Wilson – re-elected as Director

BCCM CEO Melina Morrison said the re-election was fantastic news for the cooperative and mutual sector. “The Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals are delighted such high-calibre board members continue to lead our sector as we improve our access to capital in 2019.”

“At a time when the 2100 member-owned businesses currently operating in Australia can plan for the future by expanding services, or pursuing new opportunities, our board has first-rate experience in the areas of finance, mutuality, business transformation, health and agricultural investment.

“We thank them for their ongoing service to Australia’s member-focused businesses.”

Terry Agnew

A founding BCCM member, Terry Agnew first served as a director in 2015. Since 1998 he has been the CEO of RAC WA, a member-owned business covering motoring, insurance, finance, travel, tourism, retirement and home services, with revenue exceeding $640 million and assets of $1.6 billion. RAC WA is a member of ICMIF.

“I am honoured to renew the position of chairperson of the BCCM board, especially during this exciting time of change for our sector,” said Mr Agnew.

Mr Agnew is a director of Australian Motoring Services (including subsidiaries), the Australian Automobile Association (AAA), Edge Employment Solutions, MDA National Insurance and RAA Insurance, and various other directorships including the West Coast Eagles Football Club and the Insurance Commission of WA. Mr Agnew was West Australian State President of Committee for the Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) from 2001-2003 and AIM National President from 2008–2010. Since 2008, he has been the Chair of the Curtin Business School Advisory Council.

Ian Gillespie

Ian Gillespie is Group Chief Executive Officer of the RACQ (The Royal Automobile Club of Queensland Limited) which celebrated its centenary in 2005 and covers approximately 1.7 million members. Mr Gillespie is a Director of RACQ Insurance Ltd, a personal lines insurer that provides home/vehicle coverage to over one million policy holders. He is a Director of the Australian Automobile Association (AAA), Australian Motoring Services Pty Ltd (AMS) and the RACQ Foundation, as well as several subsidiary companies associated with the RACQ and AMS. He is also a Director of the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport Limited (CAMS) and a member of the Global Mobility Alliance (GMA) Board.

“There has never been a more exciting time to work in Australia’s cooperative and mutual sector,” said Mr Gillespie. “I am honoured to continue on the BCCM board.”

Prior to joining RACQ, Mr Gillespie spent 30 years working in a broad range of industries in Australia and internationally at CEO and senior executive level, most recently in the defence technology sector. His career includes roles in corporate law, HR, business management and private equity investment. Mr Gillespie received the 2008 AIM Professional Manager of the Year Award for Queensland.

Greg Wall

Ex-Capricorn CEO, Greg Wall joined the WA motoring mutual in 2011 and his extensive experience, particularly in the mutual and cooperative sector, saw Capricorn into its next stage of growth and development.

“I am delighted to continue representing Australia’s cooperative and mutual businesses,” said Mr Wall.

For over 30 years Mr Wall has been driving success to a number of institutions including 10 years as CEO of StateWest Credit Society Ltd, Managing Director of Home Building Society and executive roles at Challenge Bank.

He has held a variety of significant and relevant directorship, non-executive directorship and leadership roles across many industries. Notable experience includes five years as Director of CUSCAL (the Australian Credit Union peak body), and non-executive director positions at Edith Cowan University, Automotive Holdings Group, WA Football Commission and as Chairman of Freo Cranes and Machinery.

In 2017, Mr Wall was elected to the International Co-operative Alliance, the global peak body for the cooperative movement.

Jimmy Wilson

Jimmy Wilson commenced as CBH CEO in October 2017. He has a wealth of experience in supply chain management across multiple resource commodities.

Mr Wilson was President of BHP Billiton Iron Ore and Member of the Group Management Committee at BHP Billiton from 2012 to 2016. Prior to this, he led BHP Billiton’s Energy Coal, Stainless Steel and Nickel West division in Australia after managing BHP Billiton’s Chrome and Aluminium operations in South Africa.

“I feel very privileged to renew this appointment,” said Mr Wilson. “I have enjoyed the transition to working within the wheat industry, and Australia’s cooperative and mutual sector.”

For member-only strategic content on the cooperative/mutual insurance sector, ICMIF members have exclusive access to a range of online resources through the ICMIF Knowledge Hub.

Scroll to Top